Haw Par Heritage

瓶中传奇 - 历久弥新

虎豹兄弟的传奇故事可追溯到19世纪。

追溯虎豹集团之瓶中传奇须穿越时空来到19世纪虎豹两兄弟的出生地缅甸仰光。其父胡子钦于19世纪末从中国福建省移居缅甸并在仰光创办中药店宝号「永安堂」,后成家。

查阅详情 ›
Haw Par
为了拓展市场,胡文虎以自己的名字注册商标,虎标万金油自此驰名于世。

虎豹兄弟继承父业

胡文虎生于1882年,童年被送回家乡福建永定接受传统文化教育;胡文豹生于1888年,在英国殖民时期的仰光受英式教育。

1908年,胡子钦病逝,胡文豹继承父业,恳请其兄胡文虎回返仰光共同经营「永安堂」,各取所长,结合西医理论和中医处方辩证施治,为病患提供中西合璧的服务,让「永安堂」的业务蒸蒸日上。

Tiger Balm Haw Par

虎标万金油药方的来源

此传奇性的药膏源自宫廷,其配方历经辗转几经失传,幸得胡子钦保存,重新配制,才得以重现于世。

虎豹两兄弟精益求精,在其先父所授的配方基础上,不断研究与创新,于家中厨房成功创制了日后家喻户晓的万金油。由于疗效显著,前来「永安堂」问诊的病人无不买一瓶万金油以备不时之需。胡文虎趁势急追,说服城里的每家华人店铺售卖万金油。

Haw Par
新加坡尼路的永安堂工厂原貌(上图)和位于新加坡佳品路的虎标万金油工厂(下图)。

胡文虎南下马来亚和新加坡

为了进一步拓展市场,胡文虎随即以自己的名字注册商标,虎标万金油自此驰名于世。1920年,未满40岁的胡文虎已是仰光华侨首富。志存高远、目光如炬的胡文虎将视线转向以南的马来亚和新加坡。市场蓬勃的各个马来亚城镇及新加坡港口商机无限,让他兴奋不已。新加坡货币上威虎仰天长啸的水印图案终促使他敲定了南移的计划。

1926年,虎标万金油大王将「永安堂」的总行迁往此区域最繁忙的港口——新加坡,并在尼路(Neil Road)设立一间较大型且设备崭新的工厂,产量为仰光工厂的十倍以上。魄力十足的胡文虎行销方法别具匠心,驾驶着车头改装成“虎头”的汽车,响着发出虎啸声的车笛,穿越往返马来亚的各个城镇,派发免费试样品给好奇的甘榜村民,为虎标万金油及其系列产品赢得更多忠实顾客。

Haw Par Villa
新加坡尼路的永安堂工厂原貌(上图)和位于新加坡佳品路的虎标万金油工厂(下图)。

虎豹兄弟国际有限公司在新加坡和马来亚的交易所挂牌上市

1937年,胡文虎为其弟胡文豹在新加坡巴西班让临海的山岗上建造一栋独一无二的虎豹别墅,名称取自两兄弟的名字。别墅里的雕塑栩栩如生地刻画出中国民间传说,又称虎标万金油花园,免费开放让公众参观1

此时,胡文虎在马来亚、香港、印尼的巴达维亚及中国、泰国各大城市已建立了工厂与稳固的销售网络,其财富及社会地位也早已深受肯定。这位商界奇才转而将其精力投向发展多元化经营,业务领域包括出版业及银行业。

1944年,胡文豹在缅甸逝世。胡文虎则于1954年,在波士顿动完重要手术后回返香港途中心脏病突发逝世,享年72岁。胡文虎侄儿胡清才接手家族产业,于1969年将大部分产业转入新加坡及马来亚上市公司虎豹兄弟国际有限公司(Haw Par Brothers International Limited)2

1 胡家后期将虎标万金油花园捐赠给新加坡政府,重新命名为虎豹别墅,但与虎豹集团已无关联。
2 虎豹兄弟国际有限公司后再更名为虎豹企业有限公司 (Haw Par Corporation Limited) 。
Haw Par Products

虎标万金油在100多个国家销售,‘粉丝’遍布全球。

近期的发展

急于打造商业帝国的胡清才邀请英国金融企业史萊特渥克证券有限公司(Slater Walker Securities Limited)投资虎豹。1971年6月8日,史萊特渥克夺得虎豹掌控权。于此,虎标万金油的商标权益由公司租让予志正集团(Jack Chia Group),租期20年。尔后期间虎豹公司不符法规行为频繁,公司业务被个人利益所操纵,资产渐被掏空,导致虎豹兄弟国际有限公司全盘崩溃。新加坡政府遂委派范佑安先生(Michael Fam) 接管虎豹营运 (1975-1977) ,负责将公司导回正轨。

接下来的几年,三大财团,丰隆集团 (Hong Leong Group)、志正集团及由黄祖耀先生领导的大华银行(United Overseas Bank),互相角立争取虎豹掌控权。最终于1981年6月3日由大华银行胜出。在黄祖耀先生的前瞻性领导下,虎豹趋于集中化经营策略,卸下大部分非核心商业项目,公司实力因而逐渐增强。

历经了70年代山雨欲来风满楼的企业格局,虎标万金油的商标权益外租届满,于1992年完璧归赵,重新由虎豹完全经营。今天的虎豹集团已经不是70、80年代的多领域综合性集团,而是在证券及地产市场持有策略性长期投资,以及拥有医药保健与休闲这两组倡导健康生活方式为核心业务的企业,是众多新加坡上市公司之中财务状况首屈一指的企业。如今,虎豹集团业务遍布全球,产品线不断延伸,瓶中传奇历久弥新,永垂不朽。

Designed by InfiniteSparks

Haw Par Heritage

Legend from a Jar - The Story of Haw Par

Our story goes back to the 19th century.

The history of the legendary brothers Haw (胡文虎) and Par (胡文豹) and the origins of their genius traced back to Rangoon (Yangon), Burma (Myanmar), where it all began.

Their father, Aw Chu Kin (胡子钦), the young son of a herbalist in Xiamen, Fujian Province, left for Rangoon in the 1800s to seek his fortune. In Rangoon, he set up his own physician practice and apothecary shop and founded Eng Aun Tong, or the Hall of Everlasting Peace, and started a family.

Read More ›
Haw Par
Boon Haw named his product Tiger Balm – the embodiment of strength and vitality in the East.

Boon Haw, the "gentle tiger" and Boon Par, the "gentle leopard"

Boon Haw, the "gentle tiger", born in 1882, was educated in China, and Boon Par, the "gentle" leopard", born in 1888, studied in an English language school in British colonial Burma.

In 1908, Chu Kin died, leaving the family practice to Boon Par. The gentle leopard, finding the responsibility too much to bear, later asked for his older brother's return from China to carry on the family business in Rangoon.

"I will learn all I can about Western medicine, you can prescribe Chinese medicine. Together we won't lose a single patient. He can choose between east and west and the fee will stay with us," Boon Par said to Boon Haw.

Tiger Balm Haw Par

Origins of the Tiger Balm formula

The origins of that formula can be traced back to the times of the Chinese emperors who sought relief for aches and pains from the stresses of court hearings. The balm would have died with the dynasties had it not been for Aw Chu Kin, who breathed new life into the ancient recipe.

To perfect their late father's recipe, the sons took over their mother's kitchen. Boon Par, the quiet leopard, toiled whilst Boon Haw, the gregarious tiger, organised. Together they produced “Ban Kim Ewe”, Ten Thousand Golden Oils, a panacea for all ills. No customer left the Aw apothecary without a little bottle of this golden ointment. True to the Tiger's predatory instincts, Boon Haw sought out every Chinese shop in town and talked them into stocking his salve.

Haw Par
The original Eng Aun Tong factory at Neil Road in Singapore (top) and the custom-made car with a 'tiger" head (bottom).

Boon Haw ventured south to Malaya and Singapore

Boon Haw's next logical step was a trademark: what else but his own name, and Tiger Balm was born. By 1920 Aw Boon Haw, not yet 40, was the richest Chinese in Rangoon. Ever the risk taker, Boon Haw ventured south to Malaya and Singapore. The sights and sounds of bustling commerce in the Malayan towns and Singapore's port made his heart beat fast and his head race. Studying the Singapore currency he saw the image of a snarling tiger in the watermark. That clinched it.

The Tiger tycoon moved into Singapore in 1926 and Eng Aun Tong found a spanking new home in the busiest port in the region. A new and larger factory was built along Neil Road where production was ten times more than that of Rangoon. Aw Boon Haw plied small towns in Malaya in his custom-made car which had a head fabricated like a tiger and a honk that roared. When the kampong folks crowded around, he would distribute samples of Tiger Balm and its sister products and win still more customers.

Haw Par Villa
Haw Par Villa was built by Boon Haw for his brother Boon Par.

Haw Par Brothers International Limited listed on the stock exchanges of Singapore and Malaya

A new mansion, Haw Par Villa, was built on a hill in Pasir Panjang surrounded by unique gardens depicting Chinese mythology for the younger, quieter Boon Par in 1937. Also known as Tiger Balm Gardens, it was open to the public.1

With factories and distributorships firmly established in Malaya, Hong Kong, Batavia (Jakarta), cities in China and Thailand, and with wealth and status long achieved, Boon Haw next channelled his energy into diversification, which would include publishing and banking.

Boon Par died in Burma in 1944 while Boon Haw died in 1954 at the age of 72 from a heart attack on his way to Hong Kong following a major operation in Boston. Boon Par's son, Aw Cheng Chye, assumed control of the family business. In 1969, most of the family businesses went into a company that was listed on the stock exchanges of Singapore and Malaya as Haw Par Brothers International Limited.2

1 In 1988, the Singapore Tourism Board took over the running of the Tiger Balm Gardens and renamed it Haw Par Villa.
2 Haw Par Brothers International Limited was later renamed Haw Par Corporation Limited in 1997.
Haw Par Products

Tiger Balm is sold in almost 100 countries with fans from all over the world.

Recent History

Eager to expand his business empire, Aw Cheng Chye invited British investment group Slater Walker Securities Limited to take a stake in Haw Par. On 8th June 1971, Slater Walker took control of Haw Par. During the “Slater Walker” period (1971 - 1976), Tiger Balm and Kwan Loong, both brands owned by Haw Par, were franchised for 20 years to Jack Chia Group. Massive irregularities and personal interests were involved during this period and the empire came to a spectacular collapse. Michael Fam was brought in by the government to steer the company back to its feet as its Chief Executive (1975 - 1977).

There followed a period of uncertainty as three corporate heavyweights battled for the control of Haw Par: Hong Leong Group, Jack Chia Limited, and United Overseas Bank (UOB) headed by Wee Cho Yaw. On 3rd June 1981, UOB emerged victorious and in 1992, Haw Par took back Tiger Balm and Kwan Loong from Jack Chia after the expiry of the 20-year licence. Under the prudent stewardship of Chairman Wee Cho Yaw, Haw Par grew steadily in assets as it sharpened its focus and divested itself of most under-performing and non-core businesses.

Today, we are no longer the diversified conglomerate that we were in the 1970’s and 80’s, but a company with strategic investments, investment properties, and two core operating businesses, Healthcare and Leisure that promote healthy lifestyles through our offerings. As one of the leading companies listed on the Singapore Exchange, Haw Par continues to expand its product extensions with businesses spanning the globe. The legend of Haw Par lives on.

Designed by InfiniteSparks